Progress 8

The New Progress 8 Measure

Changes to Education – A Parent’s Guide

Currently all students and schools are measured on how many GCSE’s they achieve at A*-C including English and Mathematics. From 2016 all students and schools will be measured on how much progress they make from when they start in Year 7 to when they complete their exams at the end of Year 11.

This will be known as Progress 8

Progress 8

In 2016 Progress 8 will be introduced for all. The current Year 11 will be the first year group to face this measure in 2016. The new measure will be based on students’ progress measured across eight subjects. For each student the eight subjects must be a combination from the diagram below.

Screen Shot 2015-09-29 at 12.10.37

The Progress 8 score will always be determined by dividing the points total by 10 (the eight qualifications with English and Mathematics counting double), regardless of how many qualifications your child sits or in which subjects.

Progress 8 Explained

Each student will leave Dawlish Community College with the following;

Attainment 8– showing the students’ average achievement in the same suite of subjects as the Progress 8 measure. This will be given as a Grade this year but a number in 2017.

Progress 8– showing the students’ progress across 8 subjects. This is calculated by subtracting the students estimated attainment (calculated from KS2 scores) from their actual attainment. This will be shown as a + or -. For example 0.5 would represent a student being on average half a grade above expectation.

English and Mathematics– If your child achieved a C grade or better in both English (Language or Literature) and Mathematics.

The EBacc– If your child achieved an A*-C across English, Maths, Science, a Humanity (Geography/History) and a Language (Spanish/French)

(This will also be available about schools, for parents to be able to compare School performance)

Below is a mock example of what your child could leave Dawlish C.C with at the end of Year 11, along with their individual subject grades:

Students’ Progress Grade (average of 8 grade)

Students’ Attainment grade (average of 8 grades)

Achieved Maths and English at C grade or better

Achieve EBacc

subjects at C grade or better





Double-weighting of English and Maths

All Students at Dawlish Community College study both English Language and English Literature. When results are in, the higher grade will count twice and the lower grade will form part of Progress 8 if one of their best 8 grades.

All Students at Dawlish Community College study Mathematics. The result of this will automatically count twice.

Science subjects:

All students will sit a minimum of double science which fills two of the slots within the EBacc slot. Computer science also counts in this slot. Students doing single science will fill all 3 slots if their grade is the highest of eligible subjects in this slot.

In the open group of subjects, any GCSE can count, or any of the high-value, approved vocational and academic qualifications can count. At Dawlish we have ensured that all subjects offered are recognised as high value approved vocational and academic qualifications.