Syllabus Title
Music (4270)

Examining Group

There are four units in GCSE Music and students must complete them all.  They learn about musical language and explore the elements underlying the organisation of sound, through listening to music, performing individually and in a group, composing and appraising music.
This specification encourages students to:

    • develop their own musical interests and skills including the ability to make music individually and in groups and to use music technology
    • evaluate their own and others’ music
    • understand and appreciate a range of different kinds of music
    • actively engage in the process of music study in order to develop as effective and independent learners and as critical and reflective thinkers with enquiring minds.

Unit 1: Listening to and Appraising Music 42701
Written Paper – 1 hour – 80 marks – 20%
Unit 2: Composing and Appraising Music 42702
Extermally assessed – 40 marks – 20%
Unit 3: Performing Music 42703
Controlled Assessment – 60 marks – 40%
Unit 4: Composing Music 42704
Controlled Assessment – 30 marks – 20%